Rockland's Communities

Rockland County encompasses 200 square miles, five towns, and serves as home to 338,329 residents (U.S. Census Bureau, 2020). As the county with the third highest population density in New York State, Rockland has one of the most diverse demographic makeups in the state and is represented by a multitude of nationalities and cultures.


Rockland County is made up of five towns, 19 incorporated and unincorporated villages, and 16 hamlets. Of the five towns, the most populous is Ramapo at 148,919, while the least populous is Stony Point, at 14,655. (U.S. Census Bureau, 2020). (Links provided where available):

Towns: Clarkstown; Haverstraw; Orangetown; Ramapo; Stony Point

Villages: Airmont; Chestnut Ridge; Grand View-on-Hudson; Haverstraw; Hillburn; Kaser; Montebello; New Hempstead; New Square; Nyack; Piermont; Pomona; Sloatsburg; South Nyack; Spring Valley; Suffern; Upper Nyack; Wesley Hills; West Haverstraw

Hamlets: Bardonia; Blauvelt; Congers; Hillcrest; Monsey; Mount Ivy; Nanuet; New City; Orangeburg; Pearl River; Sparkill; Tappan; Thiells; Valley Cottage; Viola; West Nyack

Helpful Links & Resources:

Rockland County Government

U.S. Census Bureau 

New York State Department of Education 

New York State Department of Labor 


Source: US Census Bureau 2020

Population: 338,329 (2020)

White: 77.9% (2020)

Black or African American: 13.1% (2020)

American Indian and Alaskan Native: 0.6% (2020)

Asian: 6.2% (2020)

Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander: 0.01% (2020)

Two or More Races: 21% (2020)

Hispanic or Latino Origin: 18.4% (2020)

Average Household Size: 3.15 (2020)

Median Age: 35.9 years (2020)

Total Housing Units: 108,510 (2020)